Marathon Mission Results from Highgate 10K

Mark Christie of Mullingar Harriers finished best of the Irish men  with his personal best time of 29:26.61 seeing him finish 15th in the men’s elite race. Behind him came Raheny’s Kevin Dooney 18th in 29:35; Tullamore’s Liam Brady 22nd with a time of 29:47.16 and Clonmel’s  Kevin Mausell 23rd with 29:50.69. Race winner was Andy Vernon in 28:21.15. Well done to all.

SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon Set for Sell-Out again in 2017

Olympian Mick Clohisey, two-time national marathon champion Sean Hehir, reigning national champion, Laura Graham and International athlete, Clare Gibbons McCarthy today launched the 2017 SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon today at St Patrick’s Cathedral, Dublin.

The 38th running of the SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon will take place on Sunday 29th October 2017.  In 2016, the event sold out before the closing date with 19,500 entries, a 30% increase on the previous year, making it the largest marathon in Ireland and the fifth largest marathon in Europe. This was in part driven by the surge in International interest following the move to a Sunday from the historical Bank Holiday Monday.

Entries for the 2017 SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon will be capped at 20,000, with Race Director Jim Aughney anticipating another sell out: “The entries to date have been really strong and we are encouraging all those who wish to take part to enter early to avoid disappointment.” For those wishing to enter the race there will be an early bird registration rate of €70 before the 31st of May after which the price will be €80.

The SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon will mark the Dublin wide celebration of the 350th anniversary of writer Jonathon Swift’s birth, will all finishers receiving a commemorative medal to mark the occasion. All those taking part will run past St Patrick’s Cathedral, Dublin where Swift was Dean.

Speaking at today’s launch, Anne McAreavey, Sponsorship Manager at SSE Airtricity, said: “We’re really proud to be sponsoring the SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon and Race Series once again this year. The events get bigger and better every year, and hopefully we’ll see a record number of runners taking to the Dublin streets again this October.


“We’re also delighted to announce that we’re extending our sponsorship of the Marathon and Race Series to 2018. The SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon is a truly special occasion in the city, creating so much positive energy for participants and spectators alike, and we’re committed to encouraging and supporting its continued success.” Over 17,000 participants took part in the SSE Airtricity Dublin Race Series last year. The first of the race series will kick off with the Fingal 10k on Sunday 24th July, with the long running Frank Duffy 10 Mile set for the Phoenix Park 26th of August. The Dublin Half Marathon will take place in a new venue in 2017, the Newbridge Demesne in Donabate, Co. Dublin. The finale in the series is the SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon taking place on Sunday 29th October  which will also be Athletics Ireland’s National Championships (no entry details on-line).

SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon Notes

·         Founded in 1980 with 2,100 runners.

·         Record number of participants every year since 2009 with 20,000 entries projected for 2017.

·         Dublin Marathon is now the largest marathon in Ireland and the 5th largest in Europe.

·         Known as the ‘Friendly Marathon, Dublin also hosts the Athletics Ireland National Championships.

·         Voted ‘Best International Marathon’ in 2014, 2nd in 2015 & 2016, ‘Best Mass Participation Event’ at the Sport Industry Awards 2016.

·         The Dublin Marathon Expo which takes place in the RDS on the Friday & Saturday before the Marathon attracts 25,000 visitors on an annual basis.

·         Entry fee

o   To May 31st                            €70

o   June 1st to June 30th              €80

o   July 1st to Oct 1st at 17:00     €90


Race Series

·         Individual races cost €20 each with €5 discount per additional race. Participants will receive a technical t-shirt and a gift at each finish line.

·         Fingal 10K: Sunday 23rd July 10am Swords, Co. Dublin. Entry closes 7th July

·         Frank Duffy 10 mile Phoenix Park Saturday August 26th at 10am. Entry closes 11th August.

·         Dublin half marathon Newbridge Demesne Saturday September 23rd at 9.30am. Note new venue Newbridge Demesne. Entry closes 9th September.

·         SSE Airtricity Dublin marathon Sunday 29th October 2017 closing date 17:00 hrs on Saturday October 1 (earlier if race limit has been reached)

Marathon Mission Runnerss off to Highgate

Annadale’s Paul Pollock and Mark Christie of Mullingar Harriers lead the Irish entry for the annual Highgate Harriers Night of 10,000m PBs at the Parliament Hill track in London on Saturday May 20.

Other Marathon mission runners entered include Tullamore’s Liam Brady, Kevin Dooney of Raheny Shamrock, Kevin Maunsell of Clonmel.

Last year, Mick Clohisey of Rahey clocked 29:24.4 for sixth in the elite race; Mark Hanrahan of Leevale was 12th in 29:40.1 and junior Kevin Mulcaire of Ennis TC 17th in 31:12.7.

Pollock, McCormack to lead Irish marathon team at Worlds

Paul Pollock  of Annadale Striders and  Kilcoole’s Fionnuala McCormack  will lead a team of five Irish marathon runnes at the World Athletics Championships in London next August 4-13.

Also selected are Raheny’s Mick Clohisey, Sean Hehir  of Rathfarnham  and Leevale’s Claire McCarthy.

Laura Graham Wins Belfast Marathon in PB 2:41.45

SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon winner in 2016 and AAI national marathon champion Laura Graham of Mourne Runners has won the Belfast Marathon – a home victory for the first time in 19 years. Graham, supported enthusiastically all around the course,  also repeated her feat of last year by running the London and then Belfast Marathons with only seven days rest in between.

The time was marginally quicker than the 2:41.54 Graham ran to win the national title at Dublin last October and an improvement on her 2:42.38 in London last weekend.  Last year, Graham finished second in  Belfast behind Berhan Gebremichael  from Ethiopia clocking a time of 2:48.56. A week earlier, she had finished the London Marathon in 2:48.03.

Translate »