Marathon Mission Runnerss off to Highgate

Annadale’s Paul Pollock and Mark Christie of Mullingar Harriers lead the Irish entry for the annual Highgate Harriers Night of 10,000m PBs at the Parliament Hill track in London on Saturday May 20.

Other Marathon mission runners entered include Tullamore’s Liam Brady, Kevin Dooney of Raheny Shamrock, Kevin Maunsell of Clonmel.

Last year, Mick Clohisey of Rahey clocked 29:24.4 for sixth in the elite race; Mark Hanrahan of Leevale was 12th in 29:40.1 and junior Kevin Mulcaire of Ennis TC 17th in 31:12.7.

Pollock, McCormack to lead Irish marathon team at Worlds

Paul Pollock  of Annadale Striders and  Kilcoole’s Fionnuala McCormack  will lead a team of five Irish marathon runnes at the World Athletics Championships in London next August 4-13.

Also selected are Raheny’s Mick Clohisey, Sean Hehir  of Rathfarnham  and Leevale’s Claire McCarthy.

Laura Graham Wins Belfast Marathon in PB 2:41.45

SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon winner in 2016 and AAI national marathon champion Laura Graham of Mourne Runners has won the Belfast Marathon – a home victory for the first time in 19 years. Graham, supported enthusiastically all around the course,  also repeated her feat of last year by running the London and then Belfast Marathons with only seven days rest in between.

The time was marginally quicker than the 2:41.54 Graham ran to win the national title at Dublin last October and an improvement on her 2:42.38 in London last weekend.  Last year, Graham finished second in  Belfast behind Berhan Gebremichael  from Ethiopia clocking a time of 2:48.56. A week earlier, she had finished the London Marathon in 2:48.03.

Sean Hehir excels in London

Sean Hehir delivered a personal best performance to be the first Irish man home at the London Marathon in 2:16:18.

The result should seal the Clare man’s selection for the World Championships in London in August. The Rathfarnham athlete had more in reserve than his Irish counterparts passing them in the final miles.

He was followed home by Kevin Seaward (St Malachy’s) in 2:17:08, Stephen Scullion (Clonliffe Harriers) in 2:17:59 and Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock) in 2:18:34. Kenya’s Daniel Wanjiru held off Kenenisa Bekele to win in 2:05:49 to 2:05:57.

Laura Graham (Mourne Runners) was first of the Irish women home in 2:42:38 with Barbara Sanchez (Clonliffe Harriers) next in 2:47:36. The race race was won by Kenya’s Mary Keitany in a women’s-only world record of 2:17:01.

Wishing all of our participants a very Merry Christmas

merry-christmasWishing all of our participants a very Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year from the team at the SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon.

We hope you enjoy your time with family and friends, take a well deserved break from training and make the most of the festivities!

Entry for our 2017 Marathon is also available via the entry tab on our website & registration for our Dublin Race Series will open on January 1st. Hope to see you all again in the new year!!

Translate »